0�0�1�0�0�1�0�0�1�0
1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0
c�o�l�d�d�i�g�i�t�s
0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1
1�1�1�0�0�1�1�1�0�0



1�0�101010�0�1 2002-10-21, 8:37 a.m.

Diary homecoming


It's been awhile. I guess I haven't been angsty.

Today marks the third week of my new job. I'm Ms. Positive Attitude these days. Of course, the first weeks and months of a new job are always awkward. New jobs can make one feel lonely, socially incompetent, and a little slow. But I've been good about not being too hard on myself. And that makes a difference.

My coworkers and manager are professional, kind, and encouraging people, which also helps.

I'm on the 30th floor. I don't happen to have a window in my office, but from most of the conference rooms I can see Alcatraz.

Shopping shopping shopping. Good coffee. A fun train ride in the mornings. Good things, all.

I've actually not written in my diary lately because I'm a little uncomfortable about some of the things I've written in the past being out there for the world to see. Especially the ones about my coworkers. I can't imagine my former coworkers would ever be able to find these things, they not being as skilled in sly Googling as I am, but it still makes me nervous. And in typical colddigits fashion, I avoid the things that makes me uncomfortable and leave it alone for awhile rather than tearing it down or otherwise deciding what to do with it.

However, I'm thinking about making a new start. A clean slate, if you will. Taking all the past entries that were about work (which I assume would be most) and deleting them forever, so I no longer have to worry. Would anybody really miss them?

Then again, diaries are records, and if done right, meticulously preserved. Would I be doing injustice to the medium by erasing the unpleasant stuff?



beforeafter