0�0�1�0�0�1�0�0�1�0
1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0
c�o�l�d�d�i�g�i�t�s
0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1
1�1�1�0�0�1�1�1�0�0



1�0�101010�0�1 2002-09-27, 9:11 a.m.

fire and emotion


My boss just cried.

It's his last day before he leaves for Paris, and my last day at the company occurs while he's away. He's acted all cavalier and sort of obtuse about the fact that I'm leaving.

Then he just broke down in a conference room.

For a gay man, he bottles his emotions up way more than I would have expected.

I'm beginning to suspect, after two years here, that California may be too sunny. Today is the first cloudy, cool day we've had in awhile, and I'm stoked. Pulled out the turtleneck, drinking my hot coffee, feeling all cozy and introspective. I forget that the cloudy days have their benefits too.

The other weird thing about living here, though, is the smell of smoke in the air from the wildfires. A bad one is burning about 10 miles from here, and I can see the brown haze hanging over the mountains. I get out of my car in the morning and can smell smoke (ordinarily a comforting smell when coming from fireplaces, but disturbing when you realize it's from an out-of-control fire that's destroying people's houses).



beforeafter