0�0�1�0�0�1�0�0�1�0
1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0
c�o�l�d�d�i�g�i�t�s
0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1
1�1�1�0�0�1�1�1�0�0



1�0�101010�0�1 2002-09-24, 11:12 a.m.

falling in place


Well. All this time I thought this diary was a good idea because it was a place where I could vent, get the feelings out on the table, deal with them and move on.

Turns out I'm mistaken. It's evidently just better to ignore problems.

Lots of big things happening. I'm a little jumpy. Mom's visit turned out to be good. We got along famously for two full days. Facials, dress shopping (we bought the dress of my dreams on Saturday), dinner at this beautiful resort in the Berkeley hills, shopping. Then the third day, we started getting a little irritable. I think two days is the threshold. But I was still happy that we were able to be such good buddies for a couple of days at least.

A. came back from NYC and Mom met his parents. That went way more smoothly than we expected it to.

Monday morning I got my job offer, at the salary I requested, and I gave my two weeks' notice.

I'm thrilled and happy and proud. Everything is going right for me.

And all I can do is walk around thinking about the bad stuff. I'm leaving my current coworkers in a bind. The vacation isn't as long at this new place as the amount I have now. We're going to have to pick up and move. I'm anxious and jumpy. What is wrong with me? I'm truly thinking about seeing somebody. This just isn't right, or normal.

I was thinking this morning what a lovely and enviable character Jane Austen created in Elizabeth Bennet: "It was not in her nature, however, to increase her vexations by dwelling on them. She was confident of having performed her duty, and to fret over unavoidable evils, or augment them by anxiety, was no part of her disposition."

I want to be like that too. How does one get to that point?



beforeafter