0�0�1�0�0�1�0�0�1�0
1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0
c�o�l�d�d�i�g�i�t�s
0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1
1�1�1�0�0�1�1�1�0�0



1�0�101010�0�1 2004-06-14, 11:40 p.m.

friends


I've been feeling a little isolated lately. Sort of like my husband and I are in this little pod (albeit a happy pod) but I'm hopelessly out of touch with everybody else around me. Were those some mixed-non-metaphors there or what?

My heart's been swollen. I feel moved. I feel like I want to reach out and embrace the world. I want to be a friend brimming with love. I want my friends to know how much I love them. Yet I am just so terribly bad at demonstrating it.

I talked to my friend AB tonight for the first time since her mother died. She just got back from Philly last night, having stayed for three weeks to console her father. Though she delightedly listed all the things her father has decided to do with his life now that he's a single man again: buy tickets to six concerts, purchase an iMac, install DSL, buy a guitar, all the things AB's mom would never go for.

All of this is making AB so happy, as if watching her father live twice as hard somehow softens the pain of her mother's new absence.



beforeafter