0�0�1�0�0�1�0�0�1�0
1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0
c�o�l�d�d�i�g�i�t�s
0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1
1�1�1�0�0�1�1�1�0�0



1�0�101010�0�1 2004-03-30, 10:42 p.m.

long time


Dear Diary:

How's it going? It's been awhile. Glad to hear you're doing well, hanging in there, even though I neglected to pay for another year of membership. Anything new with you?

I'm really sorry I've been so out of touch. I'm not sure I can explain what's been going on with me these past couple of months. I've been working on getting my book done, yes � I actually turned it in in January, proud as could be for meeting my deadline, then learned about a week or two ago that my editors wanted me to pull a bunch of chapters and start from scratch, with very short turnaround. As you can imagine, this has sparked the old anxiety, which I'm attempting to fight off as resolutely as possible.

Beyond that, I've been really busy at work, though in a good way. I'm getting involved in projects that I'm very much enjoying, and though I feel like I'm still not quite connecting with every single person, I sense that people are starting to trust me and respect my work. I'm finally feeling like I'm in the groove there.

A. is well and has been working really hard. We're batting around a bunch of ideas for our summer vacation, as diverse as a week in Mexico or a coast-hopping trip from Seattle to Vancouver to Alaska.

A couple of weekends ago, my friends L. and J. were in town, which completely rejunvenated me in ways I can't even explain � to have a beloved friend remind you that she's still loyal after 4 years of separation, especially when you're wired to believe that you don't really make friends easily � that's an incredible feeling. And they've invited us out to possibly stay with them at their Outer Banks beach house late summer.

We're starting to look for property. I'm taking a design class that I'm not getting very good grades in, but that is fun and educational. I feel like things are settling nicely into place.

I guess I've been so silent because I've been reveling in this calm and contendedness (anti-depressant-induced though it may be). I've been keeping emotions at arm's length. Not really purposefully. But it's been happening all the same.

But, Diary, I really have been missing you. I think about you a lot. I promise to be better about staying in touch. I have this other blog. She's great and all. But, it's like the difference between my West Coast and my East Coast friends.

My West Coast friends are sweet. Very cool. Interesting lives, really laid back and open-minded.

But I just can't be as bitchy with them as I can my East Coast friends.

So let's get together soon. Drink margaritas. Talk trash about people. Cackle, hug, slink home, and smile at each other knowingly the next day.

Call me.

colddigits



beforeafter