0�0�1�0�0�1�0�0�1�0
1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0
c�o�l�d�d�i�g�i�t�s
0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1
1�1�1�0�0�1�1�1�0�0



1�0�101010�0�1 2003-08-12, 12:09 p.m.

i'm sad and lonely but remember: oh i'll love you till i die


Someday, we'll look back on this time on our lives and laugh at how stressed out we were over so many little things. I keep thinking about us, maybe later-middle-aged, our kids maybe just having gone off to college, and we'll be on one of our fabulous little vacations, maybe hiking in the mountains or hanging out at our lake house or something. And we'll start giggling, thinking about how hard things seemed when we were first married, how every little hurdle seemed like a mountain, how we took ourselves way too seriously, how life just seemed so goddamn hard all the time, when in fact we were blessed, and golden, and so very vivaciously young.

I wish we could get a little of that perspective now, when we need it the most.

***

I have a scary-bad case of PMS today. Typically I just lose my temper and fly off the handle, but today I'm sad and depressed. After a frustrating work-related phone conversation (and following an hour-long discussion involving dog frustrations early this morning), I broke down and cried at my desk, then took it to the bathroom so as not to be too unprofessional. PMS crying is not normal for me, so I think the stress is catching up with me again.

A. talked me through it; I've been counseling him on Pup-related stress lately, so that was a change. Then a few minutes later, after I'd calmed down considerably, he called again.

"I just wanted to tell you that you rock."

"Oh, honey!"

"As a Kong stuffer, that is."

"Oh!"

(For those non-dog-people here, Kongs are indestructible hollow rubber tube-like things that you stuff with peanut butter and cookies and all sorts of other good doggie stuff, freeze until they're rock-solid, then give to the mutt when you need him to be quiet. They're such a popular invention that the Humane Society actually sent us home with one. All dog trainers rave about them.)

Last night, while A. was fuming about something dumb the dog was doing, I spent about 20 minutes stuffing three Kongs with multiple layers of irresistable goodies: pieces of hot dog, American cheese, Beggin' strips, freeze-dried liver, kibble, peanut butter, and honey, then froze them solid. Turns out, Pup couldn't be distracted at all this morning while working on the first one.

"From now on, you're stuffing all the Kongs! You're a master!"

"Oh, honey, that's the nicest thing anybody's said to me all day long."

The smallest thing goes such a long way. I'm feeling like a proud contributor to the household now.





beforeafter