0�0�1�0�0�1�0�0�1�0
1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0
c�o�l�d�d�i�g�i�t�s
0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1
1�1�1�0�0�1�1�1�0�0



1�0�101010�0�1 2003-07-09, 9:07 a.m.

The solace of routine


Look, just look at how organized and on top of it I am. I am a married woman. I'm getting my shit together.

Last night I made a list of things I want to do with my new-found free time, especially now that I've resolved not to be so batty about work anymore.

This all, of course, harkens back to my laughable New Year's resolutions, which didn't seem so wild at the time I wrote them, except, you know, I had a wedding to plan and all that. Actually, now that I look at them again, I'm truly dipping in to at least some of them, if not wholeheartedly.

So I decided I need to start volunteering, finally, and made a list of all the places that sounded interesting. Thing is, in typical colddigits style, everything sounded interesting to me � do I pay visits to the elderly (even though I couldn't bring myself to do so when I lived next door to the loneliest 95-year-old woman on the planet)? Help homeless people with their resumes and interviewing skills (even though I can't be bothered to give them change coming out of the BART station)? Help little girls be empowered by teaching them math and reading? Volunteer in a battered women's shelter (which I did in college, and was so nervous about giving the wrong advice that I froze when the hotline rang)?

I think I'll narrow it down to three and call to find out more. That's what I'll do. I'm really getting into this idea of chunking, of tackling little pieces of goals rather than the whole damn thing head-on. It's helping me get through the dozens of thank-you cards I need to write and presents I need to put away, anyway.

I also started researching Japanese classes, which I'd like to start taking in the fall.

Finally, I have decided to alter my routine to accommodate two other major goals of mine. I'm going to shower at night and do my hair before I go to bed so that in the mornings, I can get up and spend an hour writing or doing yoga. I'm thinking writing three days a week, MWF, and yoga two days, TTh. I tried it for the first time this morning and it worked; I rolled out of bed as soon as my coffeemaker started brewing, 6:30 on the dot, and wrote for an hour, until A. got up and started grumbling about how terrible Earthlink is and it was time for me to go to work.

I like it, I like it. It's the new me. Facing my goals and tackling them instead of turning away because they're too much work.

It's quiet here in the office; everybody's at the big trade show. I'm not there because I missed the first couple of days of it, honeymooning. I have a huge list of things to accomplish today because, if I don't make a list, I drift through my day unfettered, with no nagging co-workers to prevent me from doing Google searches on old friends.

We turned in our disposable cameras from the wedding last night, and I'm crossing my fingers we'll have good pictures in a couple of days. I haven't seen any pictures of the wedding, just a blurry one of my butt that my friend S. took:

(In case you're wondering, that's me way up there at the front of the room, cutting the cake. My mother-in-law's head is right there on the right.)

I'm hungry for photos. My fuzzy memory doesn't do the brilliant beauty of the evening justice.



beforeafter