0�0�1�0�0�1�0�0�1�0
1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0
c�o�l�d�d�i�g�i�t�s
0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1
1�1�1�0�0�1�1�1�0�0



1�0�101010�0�1 2003-04-16, 1:24 p.m.

-


Dear Diary:

Things in my life come full-circle quite often. Perhaps more than most people I know.

My boyfriend from my sophomore year in college

  the one I lost my virginity to
  the one I got snowed in with during a historic blizzard
��the one I baked cookies for again and again
��the one who accompanied me to Pittsburgh when I visited my best friend from childhood, who I hadn't seen in ten years (she coincidentally lives here now, full-circle-some-more)
��the one with whom I stood on a gazebo in his little rural hometown in northern Ohio, which he hadn't been back to since he was 8, and kissed and held in the snowy dark, because it was so overwhelming for us to revisit his childhood together
��the one who broke my heart
��the one who my best male friend GG picked as his first major crush after he came out, then hated with a vengeance when rejected
��the one who I spent countless hours of therapy trying to get over

um, yeah, so he just moved to Oakland last week. I coincidentally emailed him to see how he was doing. And so, yeah, he and his girlfriend live by the lake. Which is close to where I live.

Not sure how to tell A.: "Honey, we're having dinner with my ex-boyfriend who coincidentally now lives 5 minutes from us! Where should I make reservations?"

It almost seems unfair, to stir up these memories when they'd been put so neatly away for so long. But then again, I was the one who followed up. I've been Googling the poor, unwitting boy for years. It was bound to happen someday, this reconnection? Wasn't it?

***

I just reread this entry and noticed how many dangling prepositions I just used. Bad, bad, bad.



beforeafter