0�0�1�0�0�1�0�0�1�0
1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0
c�o�l�d�d�i�g�i�t�s
0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1
1�1�1�0�0�1�1�1�0�0



1�0�101010�0�1 2003-01-07, 9:04 a.m.

... and then I turned into a pumpkin


I had the most lovely birthday.

Got lots of emails from friends, and my brother. My coworkers threw me a party, and my boss bought me some yummy "ginger souffle" body cream.

A. took me to Farallon. I will now proceed to recite what I ate:

  • A little cup of cream of cauliflower soup with chives and truffle oil (compliments of the chef)

  • Oysters!

  • Daurade with Dunguness crab-stuffed gnocchi in a hazelnut sauce

  • A sort of lemon souffle thingy with blood orange sauce (I was too out of it by this time to remember what it was called), with Happy Birthday written on the plate in chocolate

Now that we have that out of the way ...

A. gave me a Coach (!) planner/Palm Pilot holder. And he tucked two tickets to Neil Finn inside.

He really surprised me. Every time I listen to Neil Finn's new album I whine: "We really need to go see him next time he comes into town." But I had no idea he was actually coming.

A. is so unbelievably wonderful.

A.'s sister called and left me a message to wish me a happy birthday. And at 11:30, while we were moaning and trying to sleep off the dinner, J. and B. called to wish me a happy birthday, just in time.

It was a day full of love. A fabulous birthday.

So, so far this year, I've had one of the best New Year's of my life, and one of the best birthdays of my life; is the whole year going to be like this?

(It doesn't even bother me that my father forgot my birthday again. Really.)

But the only drawback: I DIDN'T GET TO SEE JOE MILLIONAIRE. Did anybody else see it? Was it the tackiest and most scandalously fun reality show ever????



beforeafter