0�0�1�0�0�1�0�0�1�0
1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0
c�o�l�d�d�i�g�i�t�s
0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1
1�1�1�0�0�1�1�1�0�0



1�0�101010�0�1 2002-09-11, 3:47 p.m.

random observations on the anniversary


It hasn't been too bad today.

The cafeteria at work had New York day to commemorate September 11, and my coworkers and I sat in the cafe late this afternoon drinking egg creams and watching Peter Jennings.

My brother IMed me this morning and said a skyscraper across the street from the state capitol building in Columbus had been evacuated because bomb-sniffing dogs detected something suspicious. To which I replied, "Perhaps they caught a whiff of the people who camp out in front of the capitol building all day."

On the anniversary of 9/11, I am able to be snarky. I've come a long way, baby.

I teared up a bit on the way to work (to the tune of U2's "Peace on Earth," mostly because it brought back the shock and devastating sadness of that Concert for New York shortly after the attacks). Other people were driving slowly. Even courteously. A guy in a Volvo actually let me cut in front of him.

I'm thinking seriously about enticing A. to go see a movie tonight. Something funny and irreverant, something to get away from the TV commentators drawing half-baked conclusions and connections, crafting cheesy metaphors, trying as they might to scour every last inch of the issue until it wears thin.

It's actually been a very slow, melancholy day. I can't wait for it to be over.



beforeafter