0�0�1�0�0�1�0�0�1�0
1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0
c�o�l�d�d�i�g�i�t�s
0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1
1�1�1�0�0�1�1�1�0�0



1�0�101010�0�1 2002-08-26, 2:42 p.m.

it's your birthday baby, here's a gift I shoulda wrapped it


I've been a card-holding member of American society for 28 years and have never quite gotten the hang of this birthday/special occasion thing.

Two friends named S. in Philadelphia had birthdays this month. One I knew about and put off sending a gift until today. I called her on the day of and left her an IM apologizing, but it all rings too familiar, and I'm sure she just rolled her eyes and chalked it up to my colddigits-ness.

The second S.'s exact birthday I cannot remember. I suspect it's today. I'm not sure. Last year I thought I'd be sneaky and just send her a card early, so as to cover the entire month. But I sent it an entire month too early, so she immediately knew I'd forgotten when it was.

I've never once sent my stepfather a birthday card. Because until two weeks ago, when I finally asked, I never knew his birthday was in March.

As I get older, I'm trying to stop feeling guilty about not doing things and just doing them (easy for most people, I'm sure, but not for me). It's been a struggle.



beforeafter