0�0�1�0�0�1�0�0�1�0
1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0
c�o�l�d�d�i�g�i�t�s
0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1
1�1�1�0�0�1�1�1�0�0



1�0�101010�0�1 2002-07-09, 4:06 p.m.

on dishonesty and job searches


So I just got this e-mail from a person at a jewelry design studio in San Francisco asking me if I'd be interested in a production/artisan manager position at the company. "The person would manage the artisans who produce the jewelry in studio as well as the contract artisans outside the office. You would also create a system for managing inventory of stones and production materials and manage vendors."

Well. I'm certainly not qualified for this. The poor woman probably did a search for "jewelry" on the job site and found my resume, because I used to be an editor at jewelry industry trade magazines.

But my God, it sounds like a good job. A cool job. Possibly not a thought-provoking, challening, life-changing job, but fun. And my question is: do I fake it and pretend I might be qualified in order to get an interview? Because this could be one of those career-flip-flopping moments where, in the midst of my unhappiness and uncertainty about where I'm headed in life, a really bizarre opportunity presents itself and I discover what I really want to do.

Or, do I tell her the truth: I've written about jewelry for years, but I've never actually manufactured it. I know a lot about it, but I'm not an expert.

We were just talking about this at lunch. I dumped on my boss last night and told him I'm looking for a new job, and it's no secret that my coworker (crazy editor lady) is too. So she was telling me how she essentially lies in her cover letter and interview, saying that she has lots of experience doing things she hasn't really done ... trade show management, marketing management, etc. And how she always just gets the job and comes up to speed quickly.

I know other people do that too. The university job I was applying for a few months ago was asking for a writer/editor/front-end designer/back-end programmer all rolled in to one, and I basically told them in the interview: "There's no way you'll get all of that in one person. Creatives don't really tend to write Java." And they didn't hire me. They evidently hired this diva of a woman (think Sigourney Weaver in Working Girl) who, I hear from my moles inside the department, can't do ANY of the things I listed above.

So I guess I need to learn how to lie??? To get a job I like??? But I'm so BAD at it.

My problem, it seems, is that I'm too honest and good. That's why I can't get a freaking job.



beforeafter