0�0�1�0�0�1�0�0�1�0
1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0
c�o�l�d�d�i�g�i�t�s
0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1
1�1�1�0�0�1�1�1�0�0



1�0�101010�0�1 2002-02-06, 10:29 a.m.

disconnections


I lack imagination when the weather gets cold. Somewhere along the line I decided I look good in turtlenecks, or maybe I just realized it was easier to put on a ribbed turtleneck of a different color every day of the week rather than have to stretch to figure out what to wear. Regardless, whenever the temperature drops below 50 degrees, you'll see me in a turtleneck. I even went out during the holidays and bought a lot of different kinds of tops so I'd have a little variety, but I still resort to the shirts that hide my neck. I wonder what that is.

So my boss's boss (I think I'll call him Oliver Platt from here on in, because that's who he looks like) has gotten weird. I mean, he's always been strange, but he's getting really weird, like, there's-something-going-on-with-him weird. I don't think he has anything to do, and he most certainly does not know what my boss or my team do all day or are capable of doing. He leaves early a lot, too, making me wonder if he's looking for a new job, or if he's just bored to tears and can't stand to be here. So I started sneaking around looking at his Outlook calendar the other day. He has scheduled all these two hour "committee meetings" � with himself only. I love that. It takes real talent to be that transparently incompetent.

My friend just found a "missed connections" posting addressed to her on craigslist. What are the chances? I always read those things imagining that I could be the child-like girl in the red jacket admired by the carefree 25-year-old on the BART train. But it's never me. Funny how that works.





beforeafter