0�0�1�0�0�1�0�0�1�0
1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0
c�o�l�d�d�i�g�i�t�s
0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1�0�1
1�1�1�0�0�1�1�1�0�0



1�0�101010�0�1 2002-02-01, 1:20 p.m.

almost adultery


I just had this very surreal lunch with a old friend. The entire time I've been friends with her (about six years, now), I've never known her to be anything but vaguely bitter and unhappy. She hates every job she takes and does her fair share of bitching about her personal life, too. She has a happy marriage (or so I thought), though. I've always used that as my excuse for her -- she can't be that unhappy of a person if her marriage is working.

So she picks me up in her brand new, cherry red Audi, just purchased last week. Hmmph. As we head to the restaurant, she begins telling me about her life-changing trip to her company's annual sales meeting in Dallas (which she was dreading, I might add). Not only was she drinking, smoking, dancing, and flirting with men the whole time she was there, she was making out hot and heavy with her Swedish coworker, who she now claims to have a big crush on. Um. Yeah. So she had this epiphany that she was from there on in only going to do what she wants to do. And she came home and announced to her husband that they were selling the Jeep, which he bought for her, and buying a car she wanted ... thus, the Audi.

I get the uncomfortable feeling sometimes that there are things about the world of married people that I will never understand until I live in it.

I also have that queasiness that I got after my friend Trista told me after three years of close friendship that she was bisexual: the world as I know it has just shifted. My friend is somebody I didn't know she was.



beforeafter